2 Comments

Baby Henke #2

We’re expecting! Baby Henke #2 will be making his or her appearance sometime around February 28th, 2014. We are very excited to meet this sweet baby and welcome it to our family.

I went to the doctor five weeks ago and found out. Actually, I had been feeling really tired and was taking naps almost everyday while Micaiah was napping. I blamed it on the heat but Jared said, “I think you’re pregnant.” That Jared, he’s so intuitive. 🙂 So we went to the same clinic where Micaiah was born and sure enough, I got the big “Omedetou” or Congratulations and was sent on my way.

I’m so curious about being pregnant in America since I’ve never experienced it but in Japan they have you go to the clinic/hospital every two weeks during your first trimester.  Today was my third time to go. It’s nice because each time you have an ultrasound so I’ve already seen this little one three times. I saw it’s heartbeat first at six weeks (amazing!) and then today, at 10 weeks, the baby was really active during the ultrasound and he* even put his thumb in his mouth!

(*From now on I will refer to the baby as a “he” until proven otherwise) 🙂

Babies are seriously miracles and blessings from God. As I’m just going about my everyday tasks God is knitting together this beautiful baby inside me. If you actually take the time to think about it the whole thing it will blow your mind.

Although we are very excited I can’t help but be a little nervous about having two kiddo’s running around. I feel like I’m too young. Our parents are the ones with two kids, not us. Thankfully though I have some amazing mom friends that have multiple kids and are wonderful examples and encourage me to know that I too can have more than one child and be okay. Not to mention our parents, families throughout the centuries, etc. By God’s grace we’ll do our best and have a lot of fun along the way. 🙂

2 comments on “Baby Henke #2

  1. Congratulations! Get plenty of rest and enjoy the final months of your family of 3! I’m sure you have many friends that will share the differences of being pregnant in America, I will share a bit about a dear American friend who is a missionary in China where visits to the doctor are a very public affair. Picture an area more like an American emergency room (without ALL the updated equipment) with only a few curtains (that aren’t always pulled shut) where doctors and nurses and patients and their families are coming and going (and looking in at the always freakishly tall and VERY white woman who already has such a freakishly large family with 5 children including one who is adopted from Cambodia and looks out of place with the rest . . .) All of these descriptions come via my friend and her 17 year old daughter who can usually laugh and use the “curiosity” they present as an opportunity to meet people and talk to them about Jesus, but sometimes it’s nice to have real walls with a closed door! (And going to THAT doctor is one of those times!!) Enjoy the amenities!

  2. Yaaaayyyyyyyyy!!!!!!! Love you guys!! Congrats!!

Leave a comment